RSS

Bribery learning. Yes or no?

15 Feb

I am still struggling with how to approach to pocket money and things that kids really want but it’s nowhere near their birthday or Christmas, which for my kids all comes pretty much at the same time, and then – whole year of  waiting for next Christmas. But kids interests change so often. And I don’t want them to get some presents just because they want them. I don’t want to give them rewards for doing chores – because things need to get done around the house by all family members without rewards. And I don’t want to give rewards for homework because this should be something of a habit and learning should be for the sake of learning and a feeling of getting better at something and not for rewards.

Mya wants a stunt scooter, and since I am at war with myself about how to get her one I thought of getting her collect rewards for extra learning that she normally struggles with – Russian and Maths. So in a space of two weeks she should do a bit of maths and a bit of Russian every day for 15-20 minutes. I know it might backfire, but I think if she struggles with these subjects and puts a bit more effort in with my help, of course it will get much easier for her in the future and she’ll feel less reluctant to do things that became easier to understand. This is my theory. Yesterday she asked me herself to do some Russian with her to get her stickers, and wanted to do few extra tasks in Mathletics which I didn’t ask her to do. She just got sucked in and started liking it! Same with Russian – we tried to follow a book with tasks to do, but then she deviated from the task and started to make her own words, which I didn’t mind, as long as she was doing it in Russian 🙂

 

mde

She was making words with letter blocks (Zaitsev’s blocks) first and writing them down, then asked me for Russian script movable alphabet and started experimenting with it. After struggling to find all the letters for her name (in Russian type face letters are significantly different from script, also capital and lower case look very different, all that an the fact that some letters look like English letters but sound and mean completely different) she adapted some of the letters to write her name with them in English 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2017 in literacy and writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
