RSS

Nature studies

21 Feb

On our rumblings through a nature park with friends we picked up some frogspawn on Sunday. I have never hatched or grown frogs at home before, all I remember from my childhood there were always tons of them in the country house, and a few were always swimming in our water butt (don’t ask me how they were getting there), so I had a chance watching them develop.

I was very happy to have found the frogspawn, so after we got home – I found an empty jar, added some rainwater, some pond weed from the local pond and scoured our home library for books and our toys for frogs.

Here’s our new Nature shelf

IMG_20170221_211254.jpg

And here are our future froggies on their 4th day

IMG_20170221_211008.jpg

Some of them are out of their slimey eggs and just floating about, and the eggs are floating about by themselves. I know they are supposed to eat their eggs but that needs to happen before they are out. So either I am misinformed or I accidently forced them out of the eggs while pouring them in, adding water and weed etc. Not sure what to do with empty eggs, leave it or take it out? Maybe they still need to feed on it?

Mya is keeping a journal and drawing spawn’s progress in it, as she doesn’t like to write.

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
